Battlefield 1 maps and game modes revealed

battlefield 1 horsesBattlefield 1’s October release draws closer by the day, obviously, but before you know it, it will be launch day, and you will be excited, and you’ll be talking real fast and nobody will be able to understand you because you’re being a bit too hyper, but that’s fine! Before release day though, we can see how many maps and modes will be available to play with.

Battlefield 1 will launch with 9 maps in total, along with a free ‘Giant’s Shadow’ map that will be free for all players in December. So 10 maps this year, which is pretty decent, considering the size and scope of each Battlefield map, and the way in which you can play on them. The maps are:

  1. Ballroom Blitz
  2. Argonne Forest
  3. FAO Fortress
  4. Suez
  5. The St. Quentin Scar
  6. Sinai Desert (you know this one very well from the beta)
  7. Amiens
  8. Monte Grappa
  9. Empire’s Edge
  10. Giant’s Shadow (free in December)

On those maps, DICE will be including six game modes to enjoy. Some will be very familiar to Battlefield veterans, and one in particular has an interesting title of ‘War Pigeons’. Basically, that’s capture the flag, except you’re replacing the flags with pigeons. It’s a ‘throwback’ to World War 1, when messenger pigeons were a form of communication. Both teams fight over a neutral pigeon and bring it to a specified location. Upon delivery, that team gets a free airstrike on the opposing team. Sounds nasty.

  1. Conquest
  2. Domination
  3. Operations
  4. Rush
  5. War Pigeons
  6. Team Deathmatch

Battlefield 1 launches on October 21st, earlier if you have EA Access on Xbox One, and since the beta, DICE have been implementing changes in response to feedback, which you can read up on here.

Leave a Reply